You are here:

What auto insurance is required in New York

New York State is a scenic place to drive. With more than 200,000 miles of roads, it never gets old, and taking a road trip is a common pastime. Before you hit the road in New York, it is important that you have the mandated auto insurance. At EverGreen Insurance Agency in Middletown, NY, we are locally owned and operated. We provide friendly, personalized service and offer our customers the great choices that only an independent agency can. 

In the state of New York, all drivers are required to have liability insurance. The required amount is $10,000 for damage to property in one accident. $25,000 for bodily injury for the first person and a total of $50,000 for an accident is mandated. If a person dies, the coverage is $50,000 and a total of $100,000 for more than one death. You cannot register a vehicle in the state of New York without the required auto insurance coverage. The insurance must stay in effect even if the vehicle is not currently on the road. The insurance must be in the name of the person to whom the vehicle is registered. 

If you are caught driving without the required liability insurance, you may be made to pay a fine of between $150 and $1500. You may also have to spend 15 days in jail. Your vehicle is subject to impounding, and you could lose your license for up to a year. Driving without auto insurance is taken very seriously in New York State. If your license is revoked, you will have to pay $750 to get it reinstated. 

If you have an auto loan, you will be required to carry collision and comprehensive coverage, protecting the vehicle. 

Contact EverGreen Insurance Agency in Middletown, NY for all your auto insurance needs. Give us a call or stop by our office.